Genre: Animation

IMDb review link: www.imdb.com/title/the-adventures-of-tintin

Last Sunday, sister 28, brother-in-law 32 and me 24; three of us all adults went to watch the latest Spielberg film The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn in Gopalan Innovation MultiplexBannerghatta Road, Bangalore. We put some extra-large glasses in our eyes; the experience to watch a WETA digital animated motion picture technology in 3D is superb. John Williams’ sound composition for the motion picture purpose is awesome.

Tintin is a legendary detective and journalist boy character by Herge. I was a kid, only 3, my sister and neighbor sister Lucy, both were 6 and they were good playmates. Lucy was my first love to introduce and love Tintin. Her father has two children, both are beautiful girls and every year they go to Calcutta international Book Fair, they bought TINTINs. It was in 1989; I was first introduced with the Belgian friend, “The Calculus Affair” or Calculus Er Kando – in Bengali is the first face-to-face introduction with all the evergreen characters from the history of creation.

In those days I was too little to understand the heavy ideas that Herge put into those large glossy papers. I like Tintin, his looks; Captain Archibald Haddock, “Billions of blue blistering barnacles!“; Thomson and Thompson, their foolish intelligence  and the smartest little Snowy or Kuttus is better known to me. I draw several poses and still keep those paintings with care. “Tintin in Tibet” was my first self-collection, that I saved from daily tiffin money in the school days to buy one by one in every month, it last only up to 6 of the books. Then a partnership collection with my classmate Arunava Roy, we pay half and half to read the complete series. “Tintin and the Lake of Sharks”, was the last book we bought together.

I always look for the cheapest collection of Tintin and it was “Anandomela” – a leading teenage monthly in Bengal. They publish in two or three bunch edition in their magazines. I unpin those pages and set them into one single comic book edition. It was also a huge part of my collection!

Dibyendu Nandi, my neighbor brother, he has the book “The Castafiore Emerald” (Panna Kothai – in Bengali) I took it and didn’t returned him for several months, finally he asked for the branch. I was intentionally waiting for his forgetfulness to grow up my collections but the trick didn’t worked. The last book I read when I was 17, “In the Land of the Soviets”; it takes time because it was the costliest of the whole series.

Recently, it was an exciting conversation with Premjit Nath, on 13 November at 14:38

Me: “Yesterday I see both The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of  the Unicorn and Immortals in 3D and my suggestion, attend them only in 3D… the experience, just unforgettable!”

Premjit Nath: “If pocket allows only one; then which one?”

Me: “‎Premjit da, Tintin… TinTin… I grow up enjoying this character so much, and Spielberg always fulfills the huge expectations of entertainment. Lots of unforgettable memories and emotions related with our Belgian friend… 🙂 Can’t betray TINTIN!” 😀

Premjit Nath: “Agreed… can’t betray our childhood friend.”

About VIKRAM ROY

Hi, I am Vikram, a friend of you! I would like to take this opportunity of personally welcoming you to my blog! You can read my book “The Alchemist A Mystery In Three Acts” Available now on Amazon.com : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005IDUD4C Always love, Vikram Roy

23 responses »

  1. Bidisha Roy says:

    I like the concept you applied through artistic expression!

  2. Very well done my friend 🙂
    Love the way you express… be it painting, words… photographs 😀

  3. Caufield says:

    Whoah this post is wonderful I love studying your articles. Stay up the great work!

  4. Latshaw Pahl says:

    Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?I’m glad to seek out so many helpful info here in the post.

  5. Comins Callejas says:

    I am very satisfied to look this article.

  6. Sajib says:

    Are you a Bengali? Calculus er Kando, I remember reading a whole bunch of Tintin comics translated into Bangla (I still have most of them on my PC), but I can’t remember the stories. 😛

  7. silverlining09 says:

    Gr8 post! you just reminded me of the feeling how carefree my childhood was!

  8. demoncat4 says:

    cool glad some one finaly saw Tintin for still waiting for it to come to my neck of the woods so i can finaly see how steven did translating the classic character with help from peter jackson. to the screen the first tin tin film of many i hope

  9. Katy Gilmore says:

    My sons were also Tintin fans – it’s fun to think of those books being read all over the world. Cheers!

  10. I like the animated form rather than the books. The Spielberg film is neither good animation nor exciting live action. It’s soulless motion-capture and, in my opinion, not very entertaining.

    http://opionator.wordpress.com/2011/11/11/the-adventures-of-tintin-2011/

  11. forsythkid says:

    I must admit to a complete ignorance of this particular Spielberg effort. As he is one of my most favorite producers of all time, I’ve put this on my list to watch. Thanks!

  12. The old-style comic format is the best. Great stuff.

  13. BermudaOnion says:

    We went to see this movie last week and all enjoyed it. I was fascinated with the animation.

  14. Just saw this movie this afternoon .. in 3D. it was good.. liked the dog Snow best. never read the comics so it was my first exposure to the story.

    I

  15. Jocelyne says:

    I too remember reading the Tintin stories in French during my youth. They were one of my favorites. Now I will look forward to the movie. Thanks for the info, and for stopping by my blog.
    I love the picture of the stone pier on the cover of your book titled “The Alchemist A Mystery in Three Acts”. It has great depth and looks like an intriguing place.

  16. anonse says:

    I like both the film and comics version. You have an evergreen experience on Tintin. I love this post. 🙂

  17. Samir Chopra says:

    Thanks for this reminder that I need to get off my arse and go watch the movie!

  18. bennythomas says:

    Hello Vikram,
    Tintin was a favorite of mine in the seventies. In fact I am reading at the moment a book on the creator Herge. In original Tintin is called Kuifje because of the curl of his hair. The book is called KUIFJE-Dream and Reality by Michael Farr. It gives the source of cars,ships artifacts that figure in his many stories. It is a mine of trivia but entertaining. I hope to see the film one of these days.
    Thanks for your visit and wish you all the best in your creative activities.

  19. Great recollection. I used to wake up each day for a few minutes of Tin Tin in the summer holidays. Haven’t seen the movie yet, but look forward to it.

  20. Your descriptions of artistic expression are wonderful and youthful. We, all of us, grownups need this! Peace! Cindy

  21. Arif Khan says:

    Good stuff dada…Its good to feel young again!

  22. Jeff Height says:

    Hi Jeff Height here, I previously worked on “the Tintin Shop” in UK. I read your post its awesome… Cheers!

Leave a Reply

