Let us not forget the birth of the perennial pony car, the 1967 Ford Mustang.

About The Car:

In 1960’s America’s automotive industry leaders GM, Chrysler and even American Motors, realized the pony-cars were loved by a series of customers. Ford decided to the first major restyling of the Mustang.

In 1967 a massive restyle of the Ford Mustang was slightly longer and wider. The Mustang for 1967 changes included with automotive-grade virgin steel, brushed aluminum trim on the door panels, dash and center console, bulkier sheetmetal below the beltline, a more aggressive grille, a concave tail panel, a full fastback roofline for the fastback style design and  a recessed tail lamp panel. The engine compartment was also increased. Three most popular big block engines were, the 390ci V8, the 289ci V8 and the 200ci L6.

Original Print Ad 1967

For 1967, The Mustang retained the original body structure but styling was refreshed, giving the Mustang a more massive look overall. Front and rear end styling was more pronounced, and the “twin cove” instrument panel offered a thicker crash pad, and larger gauges. Hardtop, fastback and convertible body styles continued as before. A host of Federal safety features were standard that year, including an energy-absorbing steering column and wheel, 4-way emergency flashers, and softer interior knobs.

“These days, the chances are fairly slim of finding a restorable, rust-free ’67 that has never been wrecked,’ said Dennis Mondrach, Ford Restoration Parts licensing manager. “As the value of classic Mustangs has increased over the years, garages, barns and scrapyards have been picked clean.”

“The standard power plant was now the 200-cubic-inch six making 120 horsepower with a 250-cubic-inch (4.1-liter) 155-horsepower six and the 200-, 225- and 271-horsepower K-code 289 V8s optional. New on the menu was a 390-cubic-inch (6.4-liter) “big-block” V8 breathing through a Holley four-barrel carburetor making 315 horsepower. Accommodating that wider engine meant that the front suspension’s track needed to be widened by 2.5 inches for clearance.”

“With its wider track, the ’67 Mustang was a more stable car than the ’66. The seats were more comfortable, and the instrumentation was easier to read. It was, generally speaking, a better car in every way that counted. Ford sold 356,271 coupes, 71,042 2+2s and 44,808 convertibles during ’67 despite the new competition. Of those, only 472 cars were equipped with the 271-horsepower 289, while around 28,800 had the 390 under their hoods.”

My Eyes Stuck at:

The Mustang from capturing the hearts of drivers for nearly 40 years. As ordinary a car as the Mustang has always been, it has always been extraordinary and attractive. The 1967, second generation Ford Mustang is so interesting to grow a customers attraction even today. Mustang Convertible. The Mustang is a pillar of American automobile history, and the car that brought sporting dash and styling at a price almost anyone could afford.

The price for the beginning part of someone’s rebuild project stands at $15,995. “The 1967 Mustang appears larger (two and a half inches wider and a half inch taller) if not more aggressive. A majority of the restyling occurs below the belt-line (except of course for the fastback, which has the roofline taper to the edge of the rear deck). Wider track, deeper grille with a rectangular mesh insert, more prominent side sculpting and a stepped decklid with concave taillights are only a few of the year’s styling changes.”

Conclusion: 

The maximum demand of Ford’s 1967 sporty model, the Mustang, was not its low-price tag, but of numerous options that could be decisions made for the car. These options allowed customers to customize the Mustang to their character. Its wide-ranging packages enabled Ford to target each social classes rather than one specific. The Mustang was the automobile that touched off the entire “pony car” craze of the 60s, and was the first automobile ever to win the Tiffany Award for Excellence in American Design.

Production
Type Produced
Fastback, standard 53,651
Fastback, luxury 17,391
Coupe, standard 325,853
Coupe, luxury 22,228
Coupe, bench seat 8,190
Convertible, standard 38,751
Convertible, luxury 4,848
Convertible, bench seat 1,209
-Total- 472,121
Prices
Type Price
Coupe, standard $2,461
Fastback, standard $2,692
Convertible, standard $2,898
G.T. 350 $3,995
G.T. 500 $4,195
***For More Data 1967 Ford Mustang Please Visit: http://shnack.com/history/1967
About VIKRAM ROY

Hi, I am Vikram, a friend of you! I would like to take this opportunity of personally welcoming you to my blog! You can read my book “The Alchemist A Mystery In Three Acts” Available now on Amazon.com : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005IDUD4C Always love, Vikram Roy

29 responses »

  1. Oh man you just touched a nerve there with that Mustang talk. I owned a 69 mustang once until it was stolen. I never even bothered opening the door to get in. I did it General Lee style. That car was a muscle. Thanks for refreshing the memory.

  2. We’d love to be behind that wheel. We can imagine ourselves driving around L.A. in the early 70s with jane fonda at our side.

    Great find with that ad too, really cool article!

    The Eye
    http://theeyeoffaith.com

  3. I have absolutely no interest in cars. But I must say that I am really impressed by you work; you have searched for a lot of information and you wrote it down nicely. Looks as if you would be working with HTML-code. It is a pleasure to see this kind of beauty-post 🙂
    Maggie

  4. swabby429 says:

    My cousing collects Ford Mustangs. He has 1 one of the 1967 convertables. Meanwhile, many years ago, I drove a 1967 Chevrolet Camaro coupe.

  5. Premjit says:

    Excellent writing brother. Nevertheless the visual effect is awesome .

  6. Paula says:

    My mom drove us around in a gold one in the 70’s. 🙂

  7. always a wonderful car! nice article too!
    k*

  8. A very nice read…I am a big Mustang Fan ..not the mass produced stuff that emerged out of the 90’s but the 60’s and 70’s breeds. Made for Men..

  9. Pete Denton says:

    I do like the look of that car. Never been in one but conjures up so many 70s film images.

  10. xoxo bb says:

    I have a close personal connection to these cars so I love ’em!

  11. So that’s what they’re called! mAAN I LOVE these cars! There’s just summat about them!

  12. Great piece! I love Mustangs and hoped when I finally got my driver’s license I’d get one. It didn’t happen right away, but I did fiinally get one – it was a great car!

  13. Mustang………Lots of memories……Good ones.

  14. I still dream of owning a Mustang someday!

  15. I’m still dreaming about that 64 1/2…enjoyed your post …Bev B

  16. Although my knowledge (and interest) in cars is primarily limited to their color – I thank you for presenting the 1967 Mustang (a car I do remember and coveted) as you have in this post. I have set a mission for myself because of your post. I am going to become more observant and figure out which insignias belong to which vehicles. It’s a step in the right direction, don’t you think?

  17. Sadly, My Mustang is a 2003 😦
    I Love My Car, Yes…
    …But I’d Rather Have A CLASSIC ‘Stang…
    …or A 2012 5.0! hahahahaha
    Oh Well.
    At Least My ’03 IS A STICK!
    That’s Gotta Count For Something… right???
    😉
    -BRADLEY

  18. Man, I’d love to have a Mustang! I couldn’t drive it the way it was meant to be driven with a standard though, since I have two screws in my knee, and that would bug me. They sure are nice to look at though – maybe one day!

  19. A lady I once knew who was from the States but living in Australia (like me) said if I went with her to America she would drive me around in her Mustang. I must admit there was a moment of temptation . . .however brief. The moment lives again. Seems there are many Mustang moments out there. Love your blog Vik. And . . .can we call you Vik? Or must it be Vikram . . .or do you prefer Roy?

  20. molivermade says:

    My sister had a green 67 mustang back then. Brings back memories.

  21. Noel Williams says:

    Wow! The Mustang was a coveted car where I am from. But the thing that caught my eyes on the car, was the silver horse.

    Thanks for sharing. God bless.

  22. […] Henry Ford and the electric carHenry FordEngineering Education “Today in History” Blog: Ford Patents a Plastic AutomobileLet Us Not Forget the Birth of the Perennial Pony Car! History of the 1967 Ford Mustang. […]

  23. […] FordEngineering Education “Today in History” Blog: Ford Patents a Plastic AutomobileLet Us Not Forget the Birth of the Perennial Pony Car! History of the 1967 Ford Mustang.A Look at the Ford Model […]

  24. Mary Ann says:

    I love those mustangs. I want to own one someday! Nice article.

  25. eof737 says:

    Great picture of the mustang. Awesome! 🙂

  26. The Ford Mustang is definitely one of the most iconic muscle cars in American history; its one of my favorites for sure. The current models look great, however I do prefer the classic Mustang’s from the 60’s since those are truly timeless.

  27. Peenisausynig says:

    You are mysterious my friend! Wow now its Mastang. I don’t know its available in Moscow, I want to buy one soon!

  28. Definitely a cool car!

  29. I definitely think the Ford Mustang became so successful because Ford Motor enabled the average person to obtain a car at a reasonable cost that was not only sporty but extremely classy and cool. I still think of the Mustang as the epitome of the classic muscle car.

Leave a Reply

