This 7 February, 2012 it was 200 years of Dickens. This article is a tribute to the greatest novelist of any century Charles John Huffam Dickens.

In the 19th century the novel assumed a new phase and acquired a new popularity. The growth of the periodicals and the rise of the middle class accounted for the phenomenal development of the novel during the Victorian age. The novel came to be looked upon as an art of entertainment for the middle class reading publics who are attracted to read novels for amusement.

"To celebrate 200 years since the birth of Charles Dickens, the Royal Mint have launched a new £2 coin."

For more information about the special coin please visit: www.bisonbison.co.uk/project_charles-dickens-2-pounds

Charles Dickens (1812–1870) was born at Landport. His father was a clerk in the Navy Pay–Office. He is the most pre-eminent among Victorian novelists. In 1833 some articles which he called Sketches by Boz appeared in The Monthly Magazine. His first novel Pickwick Papers was a parody of 18th century picaresque adventure (a supreme comic novel). This was followed by Oliver Twist, the Old Curiosity Shop, A Christmas Carol, David Copperfield, Bleak House, Hard Times, A Tale of Two Cities, Great Expectations etc.

Oliver Twist, Dickens devoted himself to the social conditions with a reforming zeal.

David Copperfield is an autobiographical novel but the main stress is on the social conditions of the period.

Bleak House is the most conscious and deeply planned novel among his works.

Great Expectations shows his artistic capacity.

Hard Times is a social satire.

A Tale of Two Cities has the greatest historical value.

Dickens is a typical English novelist. The characters he created, were not in the round but in the flat type. His genius was quickened by the industrial England of grim cities where poor died, worn out by despair, hardship and hopes of youth were destroyed by drudgery and squalor.

Dickens satisfied the middle class readers by blending slapstick with sentiment. He studied from painful experiences. The life of workshop, office and terrible life of the streets. He laid the settings in London with extra-ordinary vividness. His characters move in all atmosphere of London fog, London smoke, pale London sunshine and dusty London streets. He is more like a social critic who attacks the social conditions of his time diluted by humour and pathos that was never radical or revolutionary. His novels show the torment of industrial slums, education system, and the child labours. Oliver Twist, he painted the darkest world of poor. All realistic scenes were lit up by laughter and warmed up by pity.

About VIKRAM ROY

Hi, I am Vikram, a friend of you! I would like to take this opportunity of personally welcoming you to my blog! You can read my book “The Alchemist A Mystery In Three Acts” Available now on Amazon.com : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005IDUD4C Always love, Vikram Roy

27 responses »

  1. Ami Fidèle says:

    One of my favorite authors!

  2. My favorite author. As I was in my literary period of dog-naming, the golden retriever I lost 10 years ago was Dickens – his German shepherd companion was Dusty (Dostoevsky) and of course, the wonderful golden I just lost in November was Spenser.
    Thank you for reminding the world about this man, his wonderful work and the social inequities which he addressed.

  3. Noel Williams (prhayz) www.prhayz.com says:

    Great Expectations, and Oliver Twist, come to mind. I am reminded of my High School Literature class. I am looking forward to see what you have on another one of my favorites, William Shakespeare.

    Thanks for sharing. God bless you.

    • VIKRAM ROY says:

      Shakespeare is my hot favorite too! I have different plan to write about his individual literary works that I read! I watched a lot of adaptations of his dramas and films. But reading his works is the best way to understand, discover and enjoy Shakespeare! Thanks Noel!

  4. Love Dickens! Love it! Not just “Liked” by me here, Loved!

  5. Dave says:

    Thanks for celebrating his artistry. Reading A Christmas Carol has become a holiday tradition for me the past 7 years and I am always in awe that, year after year, I find new meaning within its pages. His mastery of the written word is truly a gift to us all.

  6. willowdot21 says:

    Such a writer such lovely memories of my childhood!

  7. Reblogged this on Words of A Milton and commented:
    An Interesting read, and great tribute.

  8. great post and love Dickens

  9. Yes, memories. Thank you.

  10. Kristin says:

    My favorites are Little Dorritt, Our Mutual Friend and Martin Chuzzelwit, although I can read them all over and over again. Nice blog. Kristin.

  11. Rivenrod says:

    Thank you so much for spreading the word in what is undoubtedly a well researched and absorbing article.

    All the best,

    RR

  12. namitalad says:

    I too read about him the other day when I saw Google doodle for this occasion
    thanks for sharing

  13. eof737 says:

    WoW! I’d love one of those coins. 😉

  14. Lovely shot of the coin. Interesting design. Dickens offers universal themes and interesting characters. There’s a lot to be examined and discussed in those stories even today. Should be read more.

  15. I did a Dickens post Jan 11, 2012. Maybe you check it out.

  16. Love Dickens, brings back many childhood memories. Thank you for posting.

    I have also nominated you for the Liebster award, I thoroughly enjoy reading your blog & anted to show my appreciation 🙂

  17. hallo you. Just thought I’d let you know that you have been nominated for the Liebster award in my blog 😀 http://kellycautillo.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/liebster-blog-award-accepting-spreading-the-karma/

  18. granbee says:

    Dear Vikram, your post is as balanced in its commemoration of Charles Dickens as Mr.
    Dickens was himself in his writing! My mother would reread Pickwick Papers whenever she felt the world moving in on her too much! Even DAVID COPPERFIELD contains humor and satire. I had a teach who used to scold me for laughing at certain parts of A CHRISTMAS CAROL. I mean, Dickens’ Scrooge was just too much like our local barber!

    • VIKRAM ROY says:

      I didn’t read Christmas Carol, but I see the animation film based on the book. It is very moralistic indeed. After reading your comment, I am including it in my future reading list. 🙂 Thanks granbee!

  19. Christmas Carol! Classic for American’s during the holiday season.

  20. Lovelovelove Dickens. So happy to this post in tribute to him. He is peerless in fleshing out characters in all their human triumphs and failings.

  21. sundowniest says:

    How’d I miss this! Thanks for the post! I can’t agree that he merely pleased readers with slapstick and sentiment: his writings, as bleak as they were barely tapped the truth (bleak as it was) of the times. As for slapstick, I think it is true that truth is stranger than fiction.
    A Christmas Carol is a must-read: it is a reminder of our duties to each other–as well as the brevity of life. If that’s moralistic, so be it…: )

  22. Nitoy Gonzales says:

    brought last week this quirky biography book of Dickens titled” Coffee with Dickens”…hope you check it out too. thanks for liking my blog post.God bless u!!!!

  23. Sara Niles says:

    Dickens is one of my favorite authors of all time

Leave a Reply

