Recently I was suggested by one of my friend to watch these two beautiful movies Sideways (2004) and Under the Tuscan Sun (2003). Tonight I finished them watching and honestly rated 10/10 for Sideways and 8/10 for Under the Tuscan Sun on IMBb. What happen to me? I utterly find no difference between real-life and fiction! Both of the film contains travelling, passion, love, romance, philosophy, comedy and morality is actually strong! BTW I fall in love with Sandra Oh because I discover her passionate and romantic in both of these lovely movies.

Sideways (2004)

Sideways (2004):

IMDb review link: www.imdb.com/title/sideways

This 126 minutes comedy still make me laugh at seeing two dam smart losers! How Miles and Jack enjoy Jack’s (played by Thomas Haden Chu) pre-marital bachelor trip? My first credit goes to Rex Pickett the writer. The original novel Sideways was rejected by 15 publishers is unbelievable! Alexander Payne‘s direction is remarkable. His Jack Nicholson’s acted About Schmidt (2002) was great known to me. Sideways is more than what I love about watching cinema! I love the character of Miles acted by Paul Giamatti and his use of easy wits, “Oh, Jesus. Don’t ask questions like that up in wine country. They’ll think you’re some kind of dumbshit, OK?

Miles: “Explain the situation? Yes. ‘Excuse me, sir, my friend was the one balling your wife couple of hours ago. Really sorry. He seems to have left his wallet behind. I was wondering if I come in, just poke around, I don’t know’ 
Jack: Yeah, yeah, just like that. That’s good.”  

The humorous one at the first wine shop scene, “Let me show you how this is done. First thing, hold the glass up and examine the wine against the light. You’re looking for color and clarity. Just, get a sense of it. OK? Uhh, thick? Thin? Watery? Syrupy? OK? Alright. Now, tip it. What you’re doing here is checking for color density as it thins out towards the rim. Uhh, that’s gonna tell you how old it is, among other things. It’s usually more important with reds. OK? Now, stick your nose in it. Don’t be shy, really get your nose in there. Mmm… a little citrus… maybe some strawberry… [smacks lips]“.

Lol, I can hardly spend so much time before drinking a glass of Pinot. How people do that?

Under the Tuscan Sun (2003)

Under the Tuscan Sun (2003):

IMDb review link: www.imdb.com/title/under-the-tuscan-sun

The film I watched a little long ago, may be a year-back. I love the smile of Diane Lane, Frances. A very familiar smile of one of my beloved friend. But this is not just the reason that I liked this film. It begins with the funny divorce scene of Frances, who acts the role of a literary review writer. Then the strange-comical gay bus tour of Tuscany village! During the vacation she falls in love with the village and certainly decided to buy a villa to live her own way of life. She decided and experienced an enormous, adventurous, funny and romantic life. I never read Frances Mayes’ original novel Under the Tuscan Sun: At Home in Italy but I think director Audrey Wells strongly mastered the story, become completely alive to me!

Thanks!

With love V.

About VIKRAM ROY

Hi, I am Vikram, a friend of you! I would like to take this opportunity of personally welcoming you to my blog! You can read my book “The Alchemist A Mystery In Three Acts” Available now on Amazon.com : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005IDUD4C Always love, Vikram Roy

54 responses »

  1. jasondegray says:

    Sideways was one of Giamatti’s better roles. I liked it.

  2. Loved both movies..one of my faves..Try Bottle Shock movie…good movie too

  3. granbee says:

    Two excellent movie review. I vaguely remember Under the Tuscan Sun and thought I would have also decided to move to that village! Those two guys traveling should have invited you along, Vikram. So glad both of these were good viewing experiences for you!

  4. cgregory says:

    I just watched Under the Tuscan Sun again last weekend. It inspires me to be artful and live in the moment, no regrets.

  5. Juliana says:

    Have not seen the first movie but LOVED Under the Tuscan Sun. It was a visual feast!

  6. jant1951 says:

    Haven’t seen either. Thanks for the reviews!

  7. Janaki says:

    Sideways is a great film! Loved it, and must watch it again soon.

  8. Excellent blog — yes loved both those movies. My favorite of the two – Sideways

  9. Nowadays we kind of given you the spectators an exclusive right to decide yourself, by what’s given on the screen, if it’s fiction or non-fiction. Don’t get the idea wrong. I believe, this idea has growing because spectators now smarter and smarter everyday. So I’m with you, loving and encourage the reality for the real event, and backwards. Have fun watching more! 😉

  10. I loved Under the Tuscan sun! It was an inspiring movie. Made me want to go live on a vinyard.

  11. Word Hits says:

    A delightful post. Had not thought of putting those two together, but will do so on the next re-veiwing.Spoiler alert … loved understated romantic endings of both!

  12. cfe2012 says:

    I loved the movie Sideways! It is one of the few movies I can watch several times over and never be bored with it. Did you know the writer of Sideways has written a sequel named Vertical? It is in book form and I am not sure if it will be made into a movie. I think it would be difficult to top Sideways but who knows? I think I will add it to my summer reading just in case!

  13. JJ Mellors says:

    I think I’m missing something about Sideways, I’ve seen it and didn’t like much about it. But so many people love it. Hmmmmmm? And I’m off to Tuscany in 2 months!!!!!! Will be re-watching Tuscan Sun soon -)

  14. freefrednice says:

    good choices :), if you like sandra oh, there’s a canadian film she did in 1998, “Last Night” directed by Don McKellar, pretty good movie, highly recommend it. 🙂

  15. arainbowlyf says:

    thanks for your recommendation, will watch surely

  16. I’ll have to download them, thanks for sharing…

  17. All in one: Review says:

    Your reviews are really appreciable. I guess you may also like my recent activities. Jodi Breakers & Tere naal love ho gaya.

  18. Katrina says:

    I will have to watch Sideways, I think I will enjoy it, Under The Tuscan Sun is my favorite movie. Which is odd because I’m not really a romantic chick flick person. Yet I really identified with Frances. I’ve had the earth pulled out from under me in similar ways and I’ve traveled and then had the urge to just not come back. I’m glad you enjoyed these movies.

  19. nymuse88 says:

    Under The Tuscan Sun is one of my favorite movies! I love any film about finding out who you really are. I also love films that have such a fun and amazing supporting cast. 🙂 Great review of both Vikram!

  20. Loved Sideways. The quotes you chose had my laughing out loud. I’m headed to Tuscany in May. I should watch Under the Tuscan Sun again before I go. This post made me feel happy. 🙂

    • VIKRAM ROY says:

      Congrats! I never be there but I will love to be there when I will able to earn a lot of money, and may be I will look for a cheap villa to explore my luck! Hehe! xx 🙂

  21. You’re right on with you assessment of these two films. Sideways stands up better than Tuscan Sun, IMO, but then, I always go for the comedies.

  22. Doug says:

    Ah, but you left out my favorite line in that Sideways scene: “…are you chewing GUM?”

  23. Kate says:

    I’ve seen Under the Tuscan Sun, but not Sideways. I loved Under the Tuscan Sun it’s one of my favourite films. It’s very different to the book which is more of a very descriptive diary, without much of a story and certainly no bus tour.

  24. wesner3 says:

    Hey!!! 🙂 Welcome to “WordPress” haha, on behalf of myself, Suphie!!! I just got the bright idea to write a short critique about this movie today…..Feel free to read and compare, at wesner3: “http://gravatar.com/wesner3.” Thanks! Take care!

  25. wesner3 says:

    Wow!!! I really loved the photos which you chose to include…I thought that your review of Sideways was especially good, thought I preferred the picture that went with “Under the Tuscan Sun.” 😉 Can you believe I bought a calendar of Tuscany last year? hahaha. Anyway… I really also loved your review of Sideways, I didn’t know that people abroad would like the cheesy, somewhat superficial looks of mS. Lane, but, hey, that’s perception for ya. 😉 Also, I have some bones to pick with your English, as it looks like you typed this fast, but, hell, yeah, I liked your reviews! Come on over to my blog sometime to attack mine all ya want!! 😉

    Cheers,

    Suphie

Leave a Reply

