Illustration by Vikram Roy © Copyright 2012

 

In a calm moonless night,

What these things are smoldering bright?

Their legs are at the branches,

Heads to the ground‐side.         4

 

A lonely traveler wondering Corbett at night.

He doesn’t know the rules and right!

He finds a crack on the forest’s floor.

He seeks to get the last secret door.         8

 

Nocturnal, hungry, waiting for their prey,

They have potent sense of gray.

When the living world dies in sleep?

They predict their violent chant in grief.         12

 

Top-ghetto inside the darkest cave,

The front path points to an ancient grave.

The lonely traveler discovers an unknown land,

Long he walked has no idea, thrills!         16

 

The cave is extremely two-faced,

Cobra protect the entire surface,

The blood‐suckers rush towards the same,

The deadlock traveler becomes their prey.         20

 

**Tis is one of my early poems written on 24 August, 2007. I was reading Bram Stoker, Mary Shelley kind of stuffs. The theme utterly comes in my mind is creatively dark, cruel and horrific. I don’t know you guys will like it!

About VIKRAM ROY

Hi, I am Vikram, a friend of you! I would like to take this opportunity of personally welcoming you to my blog! You can read my book “The Alchemist A Mystery In Three Acts” Available now on Amazon.com : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005IDUD4C Always love, Vikram Roy

54 responses »

  1. Yes… we will like it… It’s very melodic – if you have a sense of music within…

  2. arainbowlyf says:

    shared on my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/arainbowlife

  3. theRibz says:

    It is amateur stuff indeed but I like it. You have an extraordinary skill in evoking imagery!

  4. Not bad at all – lovin’ the artwork – you should use more in your posts!

  5. K How says:

    I love it. Good job. 🙂

  6. It somehow reminds me of Poe. Needs polishing but it has potential. You should try to work on it, now that your approach is more mature.

    • VIKRAM ROY says:

      Its a lot to me. I can’t be Poe, he is a great master in this art. May be one the greatest artist of word! But I will love to polish me. There is nothing so much interesting than learning! 🙂 Thanks Andrée!

  7. Bats. What a perfectly forgotten topic for a poem. Well done!

    • VIKRAM ROY says:

      I have an eye on the nocturnal animals, specially on the bats! The mammal that can fly create so much mysteries in literature. Some time I think about its unique qualities, and design by God! How he made them? My thoughtful little mind! Thanks Grandfathersky ! 🙂

      • I’ve always found them fascinating too. I see them in the evening flying around the streetlights catching moths using sonar ! In a world of light I think we human have an issue understanding a creature that can navigate in the darkness …

      • VIKRAM ROY says:

        And highly sophisticated sense of hearing, “ultrasound as shrill with frequencies up to 200 kHz. Ten times than the human ear. We can detect sounds up to about 20 kHz.” “They emit sounds that bounce off of the obstacles in their path, sending echoes back to the bats.” An exceptional quality in the animal world!

  8. bidisharoy says:

    It reminds me of “The Listener” by Walter de la Mare! I feel the same spirit in it, specially the imagery!

  9. grosenberg says:

    I love the image of the laughing skulls. The poem is great as well

  10. Very evocative imagery. Made me shudder a bit.

  11. Katrina says:

    Love the illustration

  12. 1stjoeyanna says:

    I love poems, and I loved yours! Thanks for sharing!

  13. jmro98 says:

    Sometimes creepy is strangely attractive…

  14. eideard says:

    Carlsbad Caverns are as special for the bat flights living within – as the stone formations.

    • VIKRAM ROY says:

      Interesting, today I went to Bannerghatta National Park, but there I see no bats! Here is a medium size wood-nut tree just out side my door, and every evening bats come here to eat nuts.

  15. what does “deadlock” in last line mean ?

  16. VIKRAM ROY says:

    Thanks Keshav! Most Welcome!

  17. jdobypr says:

    Very melodic! I like the flow and the clever wordplay. #salute

    jdobypr
    http://jdobypr.com

  18. Doraz says:

    I am running. lol 🙂

  19. granbee says:

    Vikram, very strong images here of bat caves and dangers to travelers passing by! Wonderful metaphor for the pitfalls and dangers of everyday life, right?

  20. I like bats, and they do a power of good removing enormous quantities of night insects, which could easily cause plague. But because we don’t see them generally, our fear of the unknown gets a grip of us.
    Years ago it was thought a good thing to remove the bat population from New York, but when their function re insects was explained, and that within a week of the bats being exterminated the city would be a yard deep in insect bodies, the plan was abandoned. Takes all kinds to make a world. Kristin

    • VIKRAM ROY says:

      I think in our eco-system every creature is important to balance the environment. I feel devastated when I see those Nat Geo or animal planet programs where govt. kill rabbits, foxes, dogs, monkeys because they are breeding much! It will affect on the environment directly, as you told about the bats. Human are also increasing so the animals are needed to protect and balance the world! I hardly see any animals in my locality except the squirrels now a days.

  21. excellent writing as well as an awesome photograph…damn impressive…

  22. Dear Vikram, I can go to the dark side, no problem. The earth shows us both day and night. Then what we do with what we discover there is the part I’m most interested in. Constructive vs. destructive – we all have choices.
    The image is quite interesting, how you composed it.
    You have an uncanny ability to post about things and facts and authors I especially like! And Bram Stoker’s Dracula is one of those favorite stories, for many reasons.
    I love bats – coming from Maine, bats are essential in the summertime to eat all the biting insects that otherwise would infest our flesh. And so we built houses for them, encouraged them. Just another perspective 😉

  23. twistnpout says:

    I absolutely love this Poem. Not sure I completely inderstand t but I love it. I also really love that illustration for “Bats”.

    BTW – happy birthday
    cheers

Leave a Reply

