I am Poonti, the wild beauty in earth.

I jump into meadows and enjoy nature,

When mild winds blow across the river bank, grasshoppers chirping,

I creep and listen to their news with utmost care.

My duty is to kill the dirty rats, but I hate hunting at night.

I like those who are wild like me,

I play with lizard kings and snake queens,

China rose and marigold are my favourite flowers,

I enjoy their beauty occasionally on holidays!

I am playful, wild, calm and quite; jump over the things I like!

And when I feel restless after a day-full of work,

I rest on the lap of Mother Earth, on a tree, under the starry blue sky!

 

*** This poem is for all those pets who comes to be a part of our life. We meet and play with them for a couple of years. They entertain and die accidentally or natural way; then we forget them one day! Memory remains strong, when we play and spend and see other pets just like them!

 

With love, hugs and kisses!

Vikram Roy

About VIKRAM ROY

Hi, I am Vikram, a friend of you! I would like to take this opportunity of personally welcoming you to my blog! You can read my book “The Alchemist A Mystery In Three Acts” Available now on Amazon.com : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005IDUD4C Always love, Vikram Roy

33 responses »

  1. Hi there,

    I like your blog, I thought you might want to add it to my spiritual directory to increase your viewership: http://esodates.com/spiritual-directory/

    Give it a shot!

    • VIKRAM ROY says:

      Hi Willowdot, Poonti is a universal cat now! She died on February 2008 on a car accident! But she left her sweet memories! Lovely little cat that still we talk about her mischief acts! Total entertainer cat! Full with joy of life and good in nature! She never disturbed anyone or never harm. Hope, all have such beautiful experience with pets! They are friendly figure! One dies another comes with interesting nature and bunch of entertainments! Hehe! Thanks!

  2. rose says:

    I liked that. I have owned several black cats in my lifetime. Hadn’t thought of them in years. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Being a fellow cat lover I can not help but love this. Very good poem and a wonderful tribute and memory to your cherished little friend.

  4. Yatin says:

    What a fun filled life Poonti’s got? And she’s got nine of those!!

  5. Lovely poem and totally understand the feeling since I live in dread that something might happen to my beloved dog.
    However, a few suggestions as a fellow poet:

    I am Poonti, the wild beauty on earth.

    I jump into meadows and enjoy nature,

    When mild winds blow across the river bank, grasshoppers chirping,

    I creep and cease (?), listen to their news with utmost care.

    My duty is to kill the dirty rats, but I hate hunting at night.

    I like those who are wild like me,

    I play with lizard kings and snake queens,

    China rose and marigold are my favourite flowers,

    I enjoy their beauty occasionally on holidays!

    I am playful, wild, calm and quiet; jump over the things I like!

    And when I feel restless after a day full of work,

    I rest on the lap of Mother Earth, on a tree, under the starry blue sky!

  6. As I’m reading your post, my cat Dune is sleeping here right next to me 🙂

  7. Kristin says:

    Good poem, strong graphic. Thanks. Kristin

  8. narhvalur says:

    Lovely little love song to the Black Beauty! Ann

  9. eof737 says:

    I love the humor in this poem… still smiling. 🙂

  10. granbee says:

    We had a black cat just like this back on the farm where I grew up! Now I have a Miss Fluffy and two of her children that I kept. They are about three months old now. I have five dogs with me in the flesh and several more with me in my heart of memories! I loved this post. Bless you for such soul-ful sharing, Vikram!

  11. babso2you says:

    Like this! Thank you for the like on my blog, and come back and visit again –OK? Barb

  12. I lost my best friend Fluffy the Cat, in March, this brought a tear to my eyes, and fond memories, I still feel her tapping me on the shoulder at night as I drift to sleep, like she used to do.
    Thank you Vikram.

    http://graphicanthropology.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/my-best-friend/

  13. This was my favorite line:

    When mild winds blow across the river bank, grasshoppers chirping,

    I creep and listen to their news with utmost care.

    .

Leave a Reply

