Illustration by Vikram Roy © 2012.

It was calm moonless night; Rahul found himself at the darkest corner of the graveyard; like a ghost was rising upon smoke. A little light was coming from inside the church was filled up with terror. Rahul thrilled! He was not the single-hearted soul here! Father Peter of St. Paul’s Cathedral was there.

Rahul had never faced such situation before; it was an adventure, perhaps the end of life! He got freedom, no dad’s red eyes or mom’s pesky. A brave man like Sherlock Holmes and Feluda.

Peter asks “Boy, why you are here?”

“Please don’t call me boy, I’m Mr. Rahul, a private detective!”

“So, Mr. Rahul, why are you here? What’s the reason?”

“I am here to solve a secret investigation! The truth is sleeping somewhere inside the coffin. I need those last secret letters of St. Patrick, buried at the ground.” – Rahul said.

“Okay, but my dear son, St. Patrick was buried here three centuries ago by the northern tribes. It is unknown the exact place! I think it’s impossible to get those letters. It’s too dark, you should go home!” – Peter replied.

“Nothing is impossible to me, Father! I want to complete my mission! I know it is rather dangerous! I would like to dig each of the coffins to turn out the secrets and I just need your permission.” – With hope he looked at Peter’s eyes!

“Hum! I get you but son, it is impossible officially to give the permission!” – Peter replied.

“Then please allow me unofficially! Just stay with me, I need you!” – Rahul said.

“Is it so important?” – Peter asked.

“It’s a matter of life and death, father! A primordial story allied with secret societies, customs and rituals.”

It was a moonless night, full of miseries and fearfulness. People have no idea!

“Please try to solve this contradiction, together we can improve life; please permit me to dig the northern side.” – Rahul stopped.

“Okay, but it’s an impossible task at the north side! There are more than thousand coffins… how you have planned to do that?” – Peter asked.

Rahul shows a pendrive!

“My son, I think you need to rest. Give me the pendrive!”

“Why?” – Rahul asked.

“The golden key I am long looking for!” Peter grabs him, forced to take the pendrive!

“Are you mad? I am looking for the answer to save humanity!” Rahul feels irradiated.

Peter disappeared into the air. A thief at the room!

“Last warning, give me the key or ready to die!”  Thief shouts, a knife in his hand!

Rahul opens his eyes and screams in fear “I have no key. You are wrong; I have no key! Please leave me alone and don’t scare me. Thief! Thief!” He shouts!

Jumps on the bed… more loudly ‘Help! Help! Mom! Dad! ”

The thief runs and jumps outside the window. Rahul’s parents come inside and turn on the light! Rahul was standing on the bed!

His parents had no idea what was going on, both asked “What’s going on?”

Rahul was going to tell them all! He is just 13 but brave… He says “A nightmare! I think, I thought there is a man in my room!”

About VIKRAM ROY

Hi, I am Vikram, a friend of you! I would like to take this opportunity of personally welcoming you to my blog! You can read my book “The Alchemist A Mystery In Three Acts” Available now on Amazon.com : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005IDUD4C Always love, Vikram Roy

28 responses »

  1. soumyav says:

    splendid imaginative dream! 🙂

  2. Hi V,
    Is it really bad that I spent most of this story thinking you were a really bad writer? The end makes it good. The naivety is suddenly very communicative.
    Its interesting how you’ve made it a dream and not just a thought up imaginary game that the parent walk into. Any particular reason it was a dream: It has more chaos if its a dream.
    Kids today! huh.
    I loved it… and I’d like to have a go illustrating it ( in the same capacity as your illustration).
    Suzy

  3. sagarika says:

    nice… i had a similar dream/reality happened to me as a kid….

  4. TBM says:

    I like the twist at the end.

  5. I was hoping to see the resolution of the plot-arc, but your twist ended the story well.

  6. sorrygnat says:

    Way to go; keep writing!

  7. Like how you stayed with the red and brown variations in picture. Other distinct colors would distract and ruin mood you have created.

  8. Sharmishtha says:

    good one vikram 🙂

  9. granbee says:

    Rahul should win a very fine prize for such a creative nightmare! I was ready to get a shovel and help dig up St. Patrick’s grave myself!

  10. eof737 says:

    Interesting story… I like the balance of worlds; dream vs non dream

  11. unclerave says:

    Love your artwork, Vikram! Even more than your photos!

    — YUR

  12. Thanks for the good wishes about my new job. After reading your short story I thought you may find this book interesting. http://www.amazon.com/Cryptomimesis-Gothic-Jacques-Derridas-Writing/dp/0773522794/ref=sr_1_123?ie=UTF8&qid=1332701082&sr=8-123

  13. Maria Zarif says:

    Wow, got me thrilled. You really are a very talented writer (:

  14. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    A short story By Mr. Vikram Roy. visit his blog: “Vikram Roy’s Blog”.

Leave a Reply

