Name: “The Owl”, Medium: Charcoal and Water Colour, by Vikram Roy © Copyright 24 July 2012

Last Sunday I had begun a painting of an owl! Yesterday night I completed the bird. In India the owl brings lucky charm, a mythical creature related to the goddess of fortune, Lakshmi. There is a small story behind this painting.

On a mango tree at the east end of my friend’s apartment; an owl was appearing for a couple of days. My friend asked me for a cute owl to frame it to remember the beautiful nocturnal creature. Now this painting is framed and kept by a German family in München.

Painting Details:
Name: The Owl
Surface: Artist Paper
Medium: Mix Medium (Charcoal, Water Colour and Permanent Marker)
Paper Size: 42×30 cm
The Owl Size: (On paper: 18.5×8 cm)

With love and hugs!

Vikram

About VIKRAM ROY

Hi, I am Vikram, a friend of you! I would like to take this opportunity of personally welcoming you to my blog! You can read my book “The Alchemist A Mystery In Three Acts” Available now on Amazon.com : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005IDUD4C Always love, Vikram Roy

47 responses »

  1. colltales says:

    Beautiful, Vikram. Here’s to you and your owl. All the best. Wesley

  2. jazfagan says:

    I LUUUUUUUUUUUUV this!

  3. gigoid says:

    I’m a big fan of owls, and this is a very nice piece of work. Though not true-life style, but rather, abstract, you capture the feeling of the owl’s nature very well. It’s a very soothing image…. 🙂 Well done….

  4. I have been enjoying your blog for a while now. Are you featured in the new York area at any Galleries?

  5. Thank you Vikram. One always knows you have a kind heart. That is what makes you so special. Micheline

  6. grosenberg says:

    Really great. Thank you

  7. We love this painting! Woof woof from Maggie! 🙂

  8. Areteman says:

    Brilliant!

  9. Lily Wight says:

    Such a warm and whimsical image. Just lovely and thanks for the bit of mythology to go with it, the owl is such a potent symbol of wisdom and stoicism. x

  10. Beautiful, Vikram, wonderful job! 🙂

  11. lamehousewife says:

    How beautiful! It reminds me of my grandma. She liked owls a lot so had several art pieces of owls around her house when I was growing up. Thank you…

  12. Nature signs we often ignore, your friend is wise to observe and fortunate to have you to offer him this gift …

  13. Kate says:

    Love your art!

  14. twistnpout says:

    I really like the wash on the back ground and the leaves are beautiful – the green is so vibrant. Great job

  15. So much talent! Lovely indeed

  16. VIKRAM ROY says:

    Thank you all for such lovely appreciation with love… love, warm hugs and kisses! 🙂

  17. kristobaldude says:

    Nice work Vikram! I like the colors you used and especially enjoyed how you did the leaves. Blessings my friend!

  18. like very much owl on real, yours is sweet and poetic cum story

  19. You have gold in your soul – don’t let it sold by the owl. (Ariel Voinescu)

  20. In the North American Indian tradition the owl is a powerful and very sacred bird. Wisdom, clairvoyance, seeing through deception and discovering the truth of everything.

  21. Cathy G says:

    The expression is great! Thanks for sharing!

  22. Absolutely gorgeous! I love it! I have the perfect place for him on my wall. 😉

  23. roseshadows says:

    Hi Vikram, love your painting.
    I have ‘pinned it’ on ‘Pinterest’ with your description if that is okay.

  24. that’s a beautiful painting! I love owls! 🙂

  25. Julia Kovach says:

    Lovely and beautiful! You are a talent! xoxo

  26. An owl through the eyes of a child. Love it, Vikram.

  27. daemos1 says:

    Simply beautiful. Your use of colour is inspiring.

  28. Great picture & story! I had an owl that lived right outside of my bedroom window when I was in high school. my mother used to send me owl cards when I was away at college. They have a special place in my heart 🙂
    Thank you for liking my doctor Seuss cake post, I genuinely appreciate your support 🙂 Please visit http://www.creativeEyeKandi.com for more cake pictures and other art. thank you again!

  29. staceyalysa says:

    Great use of the watercolor medium, fluid and etherial and also solid

  30. kanzensakura says:

    What a great owl. He reminds me of a little wood carving a friend gave me years ago. Always a happy little chap, he was. Thanks & blessings.

  31. Wonderful work. I like working in mixed media. And enjoyed the background as well..

  32. Cute owl. I like your use of charcoal. I think I will start using it again myself.
    p.s. Thanks!

  33. Beautiful! I love owls, too.

  34. danroberson says:

    May the wisdom of the owl speak through your poems and show in your art. Well done.

  35. Funny today I did and owl drawing for a ST. Patrick day card. I know it seems strange for that day, but it is for my niece and owl collector. I love yours. You are really creatively blessed. Thanks so much for lWow, you are a . Thanks for the visit and like of my blog post here: creativehttp://blueribbonfair.wordpress.com/2013/03/10/finally-got-a-much-better-internet-server-dish/ person liking and visiting:

  36. Lindy Lee says:

    “The Owl”, very good…

  37. I like the story that goes with the painting also.. It adds to the painting

  38. Lovely painting and story about the Owl and the Mango Tree Vikram. I once lived in an upstairs studio flat and I heard an Owl hooting some nights. I’ve also had an Owl sit on my arm- a man used to bring his Owl to town and tell people about her. She was very light!

  39. Reblogged this on My Bewildered Brain and commented:
    Just another talent of the very talented Vikram Roy.

Leave a Reply

