Midnights Children by Salman Rushdie

Midnights Children by Salman Rushdie


I have complete respect for Mr. Rushdie, I personally like him a lot. 2011, I bought Midnight’s Children from Connaught Place, New Delhi and I read it and really I do not like it. I also watched the film version Directed by Deepa Mehta and still I do not like it. The way Mr. Rushdie interpreted the history relating within the story is entirely vague. I noticed less important issues are more highlighted than the original fact. The dream fantasy and how a new age Indian Dream Children took birth is totally an absurd idea. Its a pathetic experience to read such a lengthy boring novel, don’t know how The Man Booker team came up with the Best of The Booker decision to this novel. I am not saying they do not introduced us with great books and authors. May be they didn’t verify the ultimate background or the indirect context make them nervous. It makes me think that the Man Booker Team is more concerned about fictional aristocracy than real love about fiction.

External link :

Midnight's ChildrenMidnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

on Goodreads.com

About VIKRAM ROY

Hi, I am Vikram, a friend of you! I would like to take this opportunity of personally welcoming you to my blog! You can read my book “The Alchemist A Mystery In Three Acts” Available now on Amazon.com : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005IDUD4C Always love, Vikram Roy

11 responses »

  1. TBM says:

    I haven’t read any of his novels yet. Too bad this didn’t work for you. That’s always a disappointment.

  2. Claire Ady says:

    wow. you say you have respect for him, but presumably you don’t like any of his novels? they are all in this fantasy-reality style.

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    Hmmmm! I like Rushdie too. Haven’t read this. Will take you review under advisement. Thanks, Vikram.

    Happy day …

  4. Partially agree… the creation of ‘tops’ and ‘recommendations’ are also a tool for disinformation in the ‘right hands’ – you need first to trust the people that make these ‘tops’ and ‘feel them’ and see them how they are and after that – ‘buy’ their ideas and ‘also pupular issues’ recommended. On the other hand, there is a stratosfera of books that masses won’t accept, like and talk, but that are realy nice, wise and bright enough to last for long long time… So, my advice – associate with the right men, that are close to your interests and you’ll get the right and valuable information that will not waste your time and mislead you. An example of book, not good for masses but good for eternity – “Nineteen Eighty-Four” by George Orwell. Read it and ask your father is he knows it.

  5. Your post reminds me of when my sisters would have me read certain books because they were on the Oprah Book Circle list or something (I guess Oprah recommends them?) Anyhow, I thought they were dumb! Needless to say, I don’t go by what the big “O” recommends. 😉

  6. You gave this book a very bad review- yet still awarded it 3 stars out of 5. A disconnect here? I agree that the novel was a bit of a sprawling mess, and the movie a disappointing waste of time- but I think you missed the boat on this one. Rushdie was not attempting to write an objective account of Indian independence: this is a fantasy, and as such it’s inappropriate to hold it up to standards of history. It is not an easy read, but I found it rewarding with interesting characters and a few unforgettable scenes. So why did you bother to see the movie if you hated the book? That, i just don’t get. If you want to read a truly wonderful Rushdie book, check out the delightful HAROUN AND THE SEA OF STORIES!

  7. Rushdie got a fadwa on him after the Satanic Verses, do you think this book could cause as much upheaval? Like, is there a way of misunderstanding it which could land him in even more trouble?

Leave a Reply

